digplanet beta 1: Athena
Share digplanet:

Agriculture

Applied sciences

Arts

Belief

Business

Chronology

Culture

Education

Environment

Geography

Health

History

Humanities

Language

Law

Life

Mathematics

Nature

People

Politics

Science

Society

Technology

First galley proof of A la recherche du temps perdu: Du côté de chez Swann with handwritten revision notes by Marcel Proust
Pulling a galley proof

In printing and publishing, proofs are the preliminary versions of publications meant for review by authors, editors, and proofreaders, often with extra-wide margins. Galley proofs may be uncut and unbound, or in some cases electronically published. They are created for proofreading and copyediting purposes, but may be used for promotional and review purposes also.[1][2][3]

Galley proofs are so named because in the days of hand-set letterpress printing, the printer would set the page into galleys, the metal trays into which type was laid and tightened into place. These would be used to print a limited number of copies for proofreading. The printer would then receive the edits, re-arrange the type, and print the final copy.

Some publishers use paper galley proofs as advance copies, providing them to reviewers, magazines, and libraries in advance of final publication. These print-on-demand (POD) pre-publication publicity proofs are normally bound, but may be lacking illustrations (or have them in black and white only). Proofs in electronic form are rarely offered for advance reading.

Proofs issued in the proofreading and copy-editing review phase are called galleys or galley proofs; proofs created in a near-final version for editing and checking purposes are called page proofs. In the page-proof stage, mistakes are supposed to have been corrected; to correct a mistake at this stage is expensive, and authors are discouraged from making many changes to page proofs. Page layouts are examined closely in the page proof stage. Page proofs also have the final pagination, which facilitates compiling the index.

These days, as paper and digital forms share the final product that readers actually use, the term 'uncorrected proof' is more common as a term than galley proof, which refers exclusively to a paper proof version. Uncorrected proof describes the penultimate proof version (on paper or in digital form) yet to receive final author and publisher approval, the term appearing on the covers of advance reading copies (ARCs).

See also[edit]

Notes[edit]


Original courtesy of Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Galley_proof — Please support Wikipedia.
A portion of the proceeds from advertising on Digplanet goes to supporting Wikipedia.
798 videos foundNext > 

The Ellens Galley Proof

A small sample of what the physical book will look like...

Galley Proof

How to Pronounce Galley

Learn how to say Galley correctly with EmmaSaying's "how do you pronounce" free tutorials. Definition of galley (oxford dictionary): noun (plural galleys) 1 ...

The Composing Stick Proof Press

When Bowers Museum in Santa Ana, Calif requested "some way" for their visiting students to print the type they were learning to set - "Just like Ben Franklin...

CSW Faure Requiem 140204

An ensemble of students, faculty, staff, and a member of the Board of Trustees performed Faure's Requiem on February 4, 2014. This is sort of a galley proof ...

Read This! If You Like Buffy The Vampire Slayer (Feat. Emma Approved's Dayeanne Hutton): Tigermonkey

Tigermonkey recommends the perfect book for fans of Buffy The Vampire Slayer, and Emma Approved star Dayeanne Hutton stops by for "Reading with Tigermonkey a...

Sefer HaTanya - First Printing of Hebrew-German Edition / Das Buch Tanja zweisprachig

On Chol Hamoed Sukkos 5772, Shluchim, Anash and children from four countries - Germany, Switzerland, Austria and Belgium travelled far to watch the very firs...

Publish a Book Free | How to Write a Book | Easy Book Publishing

http://ProfitableStorytelling.com/easywrite This is how to publish a book using CreateSpace. It's free except for purchasing a "galley proof" copy of your bo...

The Roman Galley

Here: The ultimate proof that Phliblib does not only animate Spaceships :) This is a huge model of a roman galley that I designed. It has large decks inside,...

1601: Conversation as it was by the Social Fireside in the Time of the Tudors by Mark Twain - Intro

Introduction: . Free audiobook of Mark Twain's "1601: Conversation as it was by the Social Fireside in the Time of the Tudors". Audio courtesy of Librivox. I...

798 videos foundNext > 

3 news items

 
USA TODAY
Thu, 10 Apr 2014 21:16:17 -0700

Favorite TJ or Eric novel/novella: Galley Proof. The relationships with the different editors made me snicker. KC Burn, author of The Jogger. What it's about: The Jogger is about an agoraphobic man who has to somehow find the strength to leave his home ...
 
International Policy Digest
Thu, 27 Mar 2014 16:48:45 -0700

Kraus also had a somewhat dubious relationship with Viennese censorship authorities during the war. In order to clear the nineteen war issues of Die Fackel with the censors, Kraus handed over every single galley proof to the authorities without protest.
 
Huffington Post
Wed, 02 Apr 2014 08:29:36 -0700

In order to clear the nineteen war issues of Die Fackel with the censors, Kraus handed over every single galley proof to the authorities without protest. This is significant because, comparing the issues of Die Fackel and the final version of The Last ...
Loading

Oops, we seem to be having trouble contacting Twitter

Talk About Galley proof

You can talk about Galley proof with people all over the world in our discussions.

Support Wikipedia

A portion of the proceeds from advertising on Digplanet goes to supporting Wikipedia. Please add your support for Wikipedia!